Clay in the Potter’s Hand

Standard

Do you ever feel like you are getting squished or sometimes broken into pieces? That’s what happens to clay. A potter takes a piece of clay to make a pot and if it doesn’t turn out right, he squishes it back into a lump and remakes it. Sometimes the potter finished the pot and fires it so it is finished, but then it can break into a bunch of pieces if it gets dropped. I’ve felt like that many times in my own life. I’m coming to realize that God is my potter and I’m the clay.

I grew up in a Christian home as a pastor’s kid. I accepted Jesus when I was 5 years old and enjoyed learning and growing up in church. As a teenager I began to struggle with my relationship with Christ. I wondered if I really knew him. My last year of high school was really hard. I looked put together, but was scared and running from God in my heart. I finished high school and left for university. I was so excited and hungry for Jesus. After a week of being at school, on August 22nd 2004, I surrendered to Jesus. I realized I wasn’t good girl, that being a pastor’s kid didn’t matter and that Jesus loved me just as I was. There was such a freedom and excitement after that in learning more about Jesus and his Word! I learned and grew a lot through my time in college and knew God was going to send me to Africa someday. He did send me there in 2010. I lost my other job and he provided a teaching job in Uganda a month later. Once I got there, I was so scared and lonely and wanted to go home, but God had other plans. I learned how to love a country that was not my home, how to live in tougher environment, how to share Jesus with grade 5 students, how to ride on a taxi and motorcycle, and that Jesus uses circumstance and people to mold me into His image. I learned that though I argued with him, that he provided for me. Yet, I’ve done what Isaiah condemned:

Isaiah 29:16

How foolish can you be?
He is the Potter, and he is certainly greater than you, the clay!
Should the created thing say of the one who made it,
“He didn’t make me”?
Does a jar ever say,
“The potter who made me is stupid”?

I came home from Uganda so happy to be home and ready to teach here. God provided a teaching job where I was stressed out and unhappy and I quit after 6 weeks.  Once again, I found myself here: Isaiah 45:9

“What sorrow awaits those who argue with their Creator.
Does a clay pot argue with its maker?
Does the clay dispute with the one who shapes it, saying,
‘Stop, you’re doing it wrong!’
Does the pot exclaim,
‘How clumsy can you be?’

I cried and was angry for couple months until God provided a less stressful office job. Fast-forward a year and half later where I was looking for Christian community and went on date with guy I met through work. He invited me to his small group where I quickly felt at home and drew closer to Jesus. Since then I have become a leader in the small group and began attending this church were God has been molding me in His image.

Jeremiah 18

18 This is the word that came to Jeremiah from the Lord: “Go down to the potter’s house, and there I will give you my message.” So I went down to the potter’s house, and I saw him working at the wheel. But the pot he was shaping from the clay was marred in his hands; so the potter formed it into another pot, shaping it as seemed best to him.

Then the word of the Lord came to me. He said, “Can I not do with you, Israel, as this potter does?” declares the Lord. “Like clay in the hand of the potter, so are you in my hand, Israel.

This is what God continues to do in my life. I’m clay in His hands. He’s reshaping me so I can be used!

2 Corinthians 4

But we have this treasure in jars of clay to show that this all-surpassing power is from God and not from us.We are hard pressed on every side, but not crushed; perplexed, but not in despair; persecuted, but not abandoned; struck down, but not destroyed. 10 We always carry around in our body the death of Jesus, so that the life of Jesus may also be revealed in our body.11 For we who are alive are always being given over to death for Jesus’ sake, so that his life may also be revealed in our mortal body. 12 So then, death is at work in us, but life is at work in you.

So often times my jar of clay may be cracked and broken, but then Jesus can shine through.

I Corinthians 1

26 Brothers and sisters, think of what you were when you were called. Not many of you were wise by human standards; not many were influential; not many were of noble birth. 27 But God chose the foolish things of the world to shame the wise; God chose the weak things of the world to shame the strong. 28 God chose the lowly things of this world and the despised things—and the things that are not—to nullify the things that are, 29 so that no one may boast before him. 30 It is because of him that you are in Christ Jesus,who has become for us wisdom from God—that is, our righteousness, holiness and redemption. 31 Therefore, as it is written: “Let the one who boasts boast in the Lord.”[d]

 

 

The Potter’s Hands by Darlene Zschech

Beautiful Lord, wonderful saviour
I know for sure, all of my days are held in Your hands
Crafted into Your perfect plan

You gently call me, into Your presence
Guiding me by, Your Holy Spirit
Teach me dear Lord
To live all of my life through Your eyes

I’m captured by, Your Holy calling
Set me apart
I know You’re drawing me to Yourself
Lead me Lord I pray

Take me, Mold me
Use me, Fill me
I give my life to the Potter’s hands
Call me, Guide me
Lead me, Walk beside me
I give my life to the Potter’s hand!

Leave a Reply

