Faithful

Standard

March 6, 2011

Jesus, I’m tired and exhausted…I want to cry. Yet, I am yours. It’s been a lonely afternoon and my body feels so tired. Yet, you are good and faithful. I think that’s the lesson in Uganda…that you are faithful no matter how I feel. You don’t let me go even though I often feel alone and at the end of all I can do. But, you are always faithful no matter my attitude and unfaithfulness. I was bemoaning my loneliness, but deciding to rejoice with worship songs on my iPod, when in came my neighbor girls to take me to a party. I was hesitant to go, but decided to go to please them and out of curiosity. I ended up going to an Eritrean baptism party that reminded of the family party from  “My Big Fat Greek Wedding”. There was food and sodas and what looked similar to a bottle of Uzzo from “My Big Fat Greek Wedding”.  The men and women were dancing, especially the men, whom I think had a little too much to drink. I was treated as a special guest and offered food and sodas. I enjoyed a soda and danced with the children and laughed. It’s hard to put in words such an experience.

But more on God’s faithfulness, I am learning that He must be enough. Calvary Chapel Kampala has blessed me beyond words with worship and the Word each Sunday. I don’t know what I would do without it!

March 13, 2011

The theme of God’s faithfulness keeps ringing in my mind as my times in Kampala is getting shorter. I really do believe that God brought me here to teach me HE IS FAITHFUL no matter what. I like Sara’s Groves, “He’s Always Been Faithful”

Great is thy faithfulness, Lord, unto me

Morning by morning I wake up to find
The power and comfort of God’s hand in mine
Season by season I watch Him, amazed
In awe of the mystery of His perfect ways
All I have need of, His hand will provide
He’s always been faithful to me.

I can’t remember a trial or a pain
He did not recycle to bring me gain
I can’t remember one single regret
In serving God only, and trusting His hand
All I have need of, His hand will provide
He’s always been faithful to me.

This is my anthem, this is my song
The theme of the stories I’ve heard for so long
God has been faithful, He will be again
His loving compassion, it knows no end
All I have need of, His hand will provide
He’s always been faithful, He’s always been faithful
He’s always been faithful to me.

and Steven Curtis Chapman’s “Faithful”!

I am broken
I am bleeding
I am scared and I’m confused
But You are faithful
Yes you are faithful

I am weary
Unbelieving
God please help my unbelief
Cuz You are faithful
Yes you are faithful

I will proclaim it to the world
I will declare it to my heart
Sing it when the sun is shining
I will scream it in the dark

You are faithful
You are faithful
When You give and when You take away
Even then still your name remains
Faithful
You are faithful
And with everything inside of me
I am choosing to believe
You are faithful

I am waiting for the rescue
That I know is sure to come
Cuz You are faithful
Yes You are faithful

I’ve dropped anchor in Your promises
And I am holding on
Cuz You are faithful
God, You are faithful

I will proclaim it to the world
I will declare it to my heart
Sing it when the sun is shining
I will scream it in the dark

You are faithful
You are faithful
When You give and when You take away
Even then still your name remains
Faithful
You are faithful
And with everything inside of me
I am choosing to believe
You’re faithful
So faithful

When I cannot have the answers
And I’m wanting to demand
I’ll remember you are God
And everything is in Your hands

With Your hands you put the sun and moon
And stars up in the sky
For the sake of love
You hung your own Son on the cross to die

You are faithful
Yes, You are faithful
When You give; when You take away
Even then great is your faithfulness
Great is your faithfulness
And with everything inside of me
I am choosing to believe
You are faithful
Ohhh
When You give and when You take away
Even then still your name is
Faithful
You are faithful
And with everything inside of me
I am choosing to believe
You are faithful

 

My life has been busy these past couple weeks with teaching and a science fair and field day! On Monday and Wednesday, I had Zumba, which was awesome! My teacher is such an encouragement and blessing! I am learning to dance the Samba, Calypso,  and a little hip-hop. I went to a Fat Tuesday pancake dinner at another teacher’s house and was blessed by that fellowship after spending the afternoon by a pool with some the high school kids! On Thursday, we had open mic night and I had lots of fun with music from teachers, yes even in French from the French teacher and the administrative secretary! We had a trio do Jason Mraz’s “I’m Yours” too (imagine a Ugandan, a missionary kid from Brasil, and an American Jewish girl!) It was awesome! I did my acapella rendition of Jennifer Knapp’s “Faithful to Me”, which I had not performed for 12 years! I also got to hold one the other teacher’s kids for a while named Selah! She’s precious and makes me think of Mowgli from “The Jungle Book”. Her mom is American and Dad Ugandan and she is just BEAUTIFUL!  Friday was the science fair and field day! I loved the field day! It made me feel like I was back at summer camp! I have sunburn to prove it! The kids on my team were great and so was Angelo (a Sudanese high school kid), who helped me with the younger ones. Friday night I went to a celebration for a couple’s new house and her birthday! It took a long time to start, which is normal for Ugandan celebrations. I was one of three white people invited though, which was an honor. We had local food: matoke, rice, meat, pumpkin, greens, g-nut sauce (peanut sauce), and cake. Then I played with a little Ugandan girl for a long time. Then Saturday was slow and I shopped and rested. Sunday was filled with church with a message on having faith instead of fear and then I got to eat lunch with two LU girls: Ashley and Sarah! After that I found my light bulbs for my little lamp, some jewelry, and oatmeal and got a boda home! Thankfully, the rain stopped and I didn’t get very wet!

 

 

Leave a Reply

