You Can Have Me

Standard

There’s a song by Sidewalk Prophets that inspired my time here in Africa. It’s called, “You Can Have Me”. The words are:

“If I saw you on the street, And you said come and follow me, But I had to give up everything, All I once held dear and all of my dreams, Would I love you enough to let go? Or would my love run dry when you asked for my life? When did love become unmoving? When did love become unconsuming? Forgetting what the world has told me, Father of love you can have me, If, you’re all you claim to be, I’m not losing anything, So I will crawl upon my knees just to know the joy of suffering, I will love you enough to let go, Lord, I give you my life, I give you my life, When did love become unconsuming? Forgetting what the world has told me, Father of love you can have me, You can have me, I wanna be where you are, I’m running into you arms, And I will never look back, So Jesus here is my heart, When did love become unconsuming? Forgetting what the world has told me, Father of love you can have me.”

These words hit my heart while I was off work due to snow last February and inspired me to apply to teach with NICS (Network of International Schools). I nearly took a job teaching in Nairobi, but God had different plans. As most you know, I’m here in Uganda teaching instead. This song has meant so much to me especially, “If you’re all you claim to be I’m not losing anything.” Those lines mean so much to me when I’m missing America and my family. To know that there are eternal ramifications to my time here is awesome. I hope that my students will also come to know Christ is they don’t and impact future generations. I want to take Christ at his word when he spoke about those who leave “home and families for him receiving a hundredfold and eternal life.”

Also, the lines, “If I saw you on the street and you said come and follow me,” came to life for me this past weekend. My co-worker Nathanael decided to hand out food and talk with people that live on the street or beg along the street near our church. I thought what a great idea and was excited about spending the morning with him as well as Karli and Jessie, two of my other co-workers. I couldn’t help but think of Keith Green’s song, “The Sheep and the Goats” and read that scripture before leaving that morning. I was excited at the thought of being a blessing to “the least of these.” We went off to share the sack lunches and Jesus. Nathanael and I ended up talking to a poor man that lived on the streets for a while. He has worked for a company for 17 years and then was laid off. His family lives further north, but he is waiting in Kampala for money from the government. He was catholic and knew God knows what is happening and seemed content. Content! How is it that someone like him can be content? God taught me something through him. It’s not what you have the makes you happy. It’s in blessing other that we are blessed. Shane Claiborne put it this way in “Irresistible Revolution,” “At first I went on mission trips to take the “good news” to poor people. Then I discovered that they were the ones who brought good news to me” (p. 18). It boggled my mind to think that this man taught me something when I went hoping to bless him! Also, I want to give say that Jessie was a true example of selflessness. She left for church with sandals and came home barefoot! She gave her shoes away to someone that needed them more than she did. Which made me ask myself, “Would I have done that?” I probably wouldn’t have. But thank God, Nathanael’s idea and the desire hang out with coworkers got me off my butt and into service. God took me out my own little world into his for just a little bit! As Matthew West puts it,

In my own little world it hardly ever rains

I’ve never gone hungry, always felt safe

I got some money in my pocket, shoes on my feet

In my own little world

Population: me

I try to stay awake during Sunday morning church

I throw a twenty in the plate, but I never give ’til it hurts

I turn off the news when I don’t like what I see

Yeah, it’s easy to do when it’s

Population: me

What if there’s a bigger picture?

What if I’m missing out?

What if there’s a greater purpose

I could be living right now

Outside my own little world oooh

Well, I stopped at a red light, looked out my window

I saw a cardboard sign, said “Help this homeless widow”

Above that sign was the face of a human

and I thought to myself, “God, what have I been doing?”

So I rolled down the window and I looked her in the eye

I thought how many times have I just passed her by?

So I gave her some money then I drove on through

And my own little world reached

Population: two
What if there’s a bigger picture?

What if I’m missing out?

What if there’s a greater purpose

I should be living right now

Outside my own little world yeah, yeah

My own little world oooh

Father break my heart for what breaks Yours

Give me open hands and open doors

and put Your Light in my eyes and let me see

That my own little world is not about me

What if there’s a bigger picture?

What if I’m missing out?

What if there’s a greater purpose

That I could be living right now

Well I don’t wanna miss what matters

I wanna be reaching out

showing the greater purpose

so I could be living right now

Outside my own little world oooh

My own little world yeah

My own little world oooh

 

Leave a Reply

