Standard

Life is FLYING BY

Things are going well here in Uganda! I have a mouse in my apartment now and cockroaches visit once a week and we’ve had one lizard a couple weeks ago, but nothing too intrusive! Hehe! I’m learning that I am a bit of a priss compared to my comrades, but that’s ok!

Friday night breakfast for dinner at Jessie, Karli, and Jean’s house (all teachers). We stayed up late playing Apples to Apples and Catch Phrase. Just imagine playing it with a bunch of singles teachers, a sweet Canadian mom, and an Italian science teacher who had never played it before!

On Saturday, I went to a resort and got sunburned with Molly (my roomie), Laura (Music teacher), and Terri (my Canadian mom/registrar at school). It was very nice and is right next to Lake Victoria. We saw some neat birds, including an ugly Maribou Stork!

Before church on Sunday, I was reading my Bible and came across these verses: 2 Corinthians 2:109-11 He has delivered us from such a deadly peril, and he will deliver us. On him we have set our hope that he will continue to deliver us, 11as you help us by your prayers. Then many will give thanks on our behalf for the gracious favor granted us in answer to the prayers of many.” Thank you for all your prayers friends! God has delivered many from many things since I got here and I know he will continue to do so, thanks to all your prayers! I made a marker poster of these verses and put it up in my room!

I went to a small church on Sunday that was nearby. A missionary family with World Gospel Mission took me. It’s called Africa Gospel Church in Kisugu. It was two-thirds children! The children who go to the school that also resides there attend the church and few adults attend. It was the Sunday for the children’s service and they lead worship and danced before the pastor spoke about parenting in Africa. He told the parents that parenting “is more than putting matoke on the table” (matoke is steamed bananas that are mashed up like mashed potatoes and is definitely a staple food here). From what the pastor said, parents are not very supportive of their children in regards to encouraging words or affection. It was really sad! If children don’t do well in school parents will call them names or tell them that they are not smart! The pastor highlighted the verses in Matthew about “letting the children come for the kingdom of God belongs to such as these”. At the end of the service, all of adults were given the privilege to put our hands on and pray for these little ones. It was overwhelming! The missionary family and I were the only mzungus (white people) there too! I was so blessed though!

After church, Delight (the missionary mom) had to stop and get ice cream at the Italian market, so I bought gelato (hazelnut and chocolate) for the main part of my lunch!

This week has been going well so far! We will likely have school off tomorrow due to Id  (Muslim holiday).  It’s the “the Feast of Breaking the Fast, at the end of Ramadan” http://wiki.answers.com/Q/What_is_the_Muslim_holiday_of_id.

I’ve never gotten off school for a Muslim holiday before!

And Saturday, might bring a safari! That’s all for now! Much love and please keep praying!

Leave a Reply

